Lewis University Adele Fay Williams Collection of Drawings and Prints (Lewis University)
  Skip to content  collection home browse advanced search preferences my favorites help   
add to favorites : reference url back to results : previous : next
 
Zoom in Zoom out Pan down Pan up Pan left Pan right Maximum resolution Fit in window Fit to width Rotate left Rotate right Hide/show thumbnail
Stone Bridge
Stone Bridge
TitleStone Bridge
CreatorWilliams, Adele Fay
Date of the DrawingMay 1926
DescriptionDrawing of a stone bridge. This bridge was located over Hickory creek at Washington street. This drawing is a part of the Robert E. Sterling Collection.
Transcript of the ArticleFrom Joliet Herald-News "The old stone bridge lying across Hickory creek at Washington Street is said by the oldest inhabitant to be one of the most ancient bridges in Joliet. In fact inhabitant to be one of the most ancient bridges in Joliet. In fact, it is so old that no one can remember just when it was built. Rough estimates place the date variously from 1845 to 1865, making it a truly venerable structure, whether it is 60 or 75 or 80 years old. And decidedly, it shows the eat marks of the wear and tear of modern life. Its mottled old stone have begun to fall away from the strict angularity of its beginnings. Consequently it becomes more picturesque every year. The more so, perhaps, that it was of an easy, not too conservative—not too conventional form in its irregular outline. History Flows By. The old bridge has watched history flow over it and under it pleasant arches. Once, the creek was overgrown with thick groups of willow trees that bent over the stream and shook their leaves into the water. This was just south of the bridge, where the stream spread itself into golden ripples as it flowed away to the Desplaines. On the north of the bridge it was an exquisitely graceful stream with curving banks, shaded with great oaks and picturesque sycamores. On Red Mill Drive. The bridge, at one time was the mecca of the youth of Joliet whose regular Sunday pilgrimages were drives to the Red Mill and back again. It was at the true horse-and-buggy period when the famous ‘sidebars' and ‘phaetons' were the only type of polite Sunday locomotion. Historic homes and pleasant farms bordered that picturesque Red Mill drive. There was the L. E. Ingalls stock farm of 260 acres, the J. E. Bush farm, the Thomas Culbertson home and mill, the J. F. Perry home, the Higinbotham extension farms and many others. At this time the Rowell gravel pit had not been removed, and the road passed thru a deep cut in a tall hill. Bush Owned Land. It was quite early in the history of Joliet, when Stephen Bush, father of J. E. Bush, came to Will county from Washington county, N. Y., where he was born in 1835. He owned the first elevator in Will county, built by Abijah Cagwin. Records in the abstract office show that Stephen Bush once possessed the tract of land immediately east of Hickory creek bridge at Washington street. It was in 1863 that Mark T. Harrington conveyed 73 acres of beautiful land running up to the bridge at the eat, to Mrs. Jeanette Bush and Miss Kate Bush. And it was in May, 1865, that Nathan B. Huntington conveyed the remaining small piece of the tract, six and one-half acres to be exact to Frank and Charles H. Bush which was later made into a subdivision, new entirely built up with charming little homes. Plot Was Subdivided. Again another parcel of 38 acres was conveyed by Jeanette Bush and her husband to William E. Henry, in 1872. This was immediately transferred to E. C. Akin, lawyer, who one month later, subdivided it into what is still the prosperous Akin subdivision."
SubjectWilliams, Adele Fay
Joliet (Ill.) -- History
Physical Description28 cm. x 21.5 cm.
TypeDrawing
FormatImage/TIFF
Identifier2011-8-ste-afwa-0059
SourceClick this link for more historical information on the Joliet area - http://lewisu.edu/imcanal
LanguageEnglish
Publisher (Digital)Lewis University
RightsAll rights held by Lewis University. For permission to reproduce, distribute, or otherwise use this image, please contact the Howard and Lois Adelmann Regional History Collection at Lewis University at 815-836-5665.
CollectionAdele Fay Williams Collection of Drawings and Prints (Lewis University)
add to favorites : reference url back to results : previous : next